Why FB IS Not The Place For Things That Matter

Standard

It bothers me so much how many people “like” things that actually aren’t likable. Is it the point to eventually confuse people about what the word actually means? I have no intention of liking a picture of a horrible action to show support of not liking it. Does anyone else see how backwards that is?

About D.Dinius

I am big on education, animals, and nature. So following that sentence I think it's important to be smart and animals and nature bring clarity and a calmness to things. I am new to actually paying attention and having opinions. This has been building well for about the last year. :)

4 responses »

  1. Ok so I can agree that sometimes bad things bother me when they have been “liked”. But I can see someone hitting the like button on these for two reasons. One is that they don’t pay attention and just “like” everything posted by someone they are advocating. Lazy but true, I have seen this happen. And the other reason is to like the fact that they are sharing this information to educate others, not that they are liking the content itself. I have done this last one myself although I usually type in a comment saying that I am not liking the topic itself but that it’s being posted and shared.

  2. I am all for educating others by sharing unlikeable content. But it still leaves the question of why pushing like when you could push share. You would still be able to comment on the post in both places. Maybe it’s just me? It just confounds me to like something I don’t.

    • In my case I just don’t share even a fraction of the things I read that are interesting. I like things but I should get better at sharing because maybe something important will get to someone who needs it.

Leave a Reply

