The Zeitgeist: Moving Forward

Standard

http://www.zeitgeistmovie.com/

Much to the dismay of our most adorable kitty,

Hahaha!

and my derriere, for having already maxed out the allotted computer time they gave me I sat down yesterday afternoon to watch the 2hr 40+ video. In a way I was surprised to find it’s been out since 2011 since I’ve recently been recommended it. But then again I get it because it’s probably one of those things that find you when you’re ready for it. And that’s why I’m linking you to the site instead of posting the video I just watched. I don’t remember the last thing I’ve watched where I nodded my head in agreement so much! I even had times where I closed my eyes and said mentally to myself “music to my ears”. While a lot of it dealt with the negatives of what’s around us and why it is what it is, it ended on such a hopeful note that I actually teared up! But back to some topics. They talked a lot about how money makes this world go round and how most of it is imaginary. Most things aren’t done in ways that will last. How your environment from the time of before even being born to how your parents treat you effects how you turn out. They brought up the Ponzi scheme which is a term I had tripped over a week or so ago. (When I found this, I REALLY wanted to steal the name for this site)

Image links to page

“A Ponzi scheme is a fraudulent investment operation that pays returns to its investors from their own money or the money paid by subsequent investors, rather than from profit earned by the individual or organization running the operation. The Ponzi scheme usually entices new investors by offering higher returns than other investments, in the form of short-term returns that are either abnormally high or unusually consistent. Perpetuation of the high returns requires an ever-increasing flow of money from new investors to keep the scheme going.”- Thanks Wikipedia?

Also, before the lovely ending, they shot this scene of a forces team (police, navy, army, something along those lines) behind a gate, suited up, protecting a government building. On the other side of the gate were all the civilians (who look like they were hoping for a sit in, because they were not suited up. Not a weapon in sight.) Which brings up a thought. Would the government bring up and “Order 66” if they felt their power/authority threatened? (Yes I am a Star Wars kind of person. 🙂 )

Execute order 66

About D.Dinius

I am big on education, animals, and nature. So following that sentence I think it's important to be smart and animals and nature bring clarity and a calmness to things. I am new to actually paying attention and having opinions. This has been building well for about the last year. :)

2 responses »

  1. Don’t forget to watch the rest of the zeitgeist movies. I too loved them and agreed with most everything. Even if you are not into any of the future theories then I still say watch it to learn a bit more about how money works or I should say no longer works. I’m not one for financial jargon or economic data as a bedtime read so this helped me understand what happens within the financial world. I do find it funny that we both discovered the word ponzi scheme from that same picture and I have since heard it a number of times and have to laugh because it’s probably not the first time but since it was the focus I had to look up what it meant. I have so many things to learn and I am so upset at how much I did not learn in public school.

  2. Just try and stop me from watching the others! I was totally into their future theory! It vibed well with my Venice post! It was kinda eerie. lol! Yeah, some of the financial and economic jargon still goes over my head. I was surprised when I heard ponzi scheme on it because it’s still a recent thing for me. I would have missed it otherwise! I also had to look it up for that picture. I’m not as upset as much as I am annoyed that so many (of my) hours in school is spent learning misinformation. Why bother telling kids in the first place then? Most in my classes would’ve rather not learn anything. For me is was taught in such a boring way that I learned things just long enough to regurgitate it back for the test, then it was usually gone. Which is sad because there’s a lot of interesting stuff out there.

Leave a Reply

