Oh dear

Standard

Image links to Treehugger article

“Until recently, China’s government estimated that there were over 50,000 rivers and waterways with catchment areas of at least 100 square kilometers. But after sending 800,000 surveyors around China for three years to do the first ever first national census of water, the actual number of rivers that meet that size criteria is lower. Much lower. The revised number is less than half the old one, with only 22,909 rivers and waterways having catchment areas of at least 100 sq km.”

Well, we could theorize that they do have about as many rivers as they originally claimed but perhaps they feel they need to hide the other ones so they could do things like float 16,000 dead pigs down them, like this article here:

http://www.treehugger.com/clean-water/16000-dead-pigs-found-chinese-river-threatening-shanghais-water-supply.html

About D.Dinius

I am big on education, animals, and nature. So following that sentence I think it's important to be smart and animals and nature bring clarity and a calmness to things. I am new to actually paying attention and having opinions. This has been building well for about the last year. :)

3 responses »

  1. Not only have I been following this since it happened and am just sickened by it and the damage it has and will continue to cause, but I just sat and read a bunch of the comments posted to the site from this article and now I am even more disgusted with the ridiculous arguments that built up. People are never going to learn until we have gone too far and there will be no clean water left, yet there will still be people out there blaming it on race or religion instead of doing something to try to stop contamination of the natural world. It is sad for me to say but I have lost all faith in the human race as a whole. There are too many bigoted people that stop progress to argue over things that do not matter for the situation. How did so many of us get this way?

    • I just realized that I posted my comment on the wrong article. I was commenting on the article about the oil spill, not the missing rivers in China. Sorry for the mix up, I was just so worked up that I did not pay enough attention. Yup, I’m human and make stupid mistakes.

Leave a Reply

