Police Officer Uses Day Off to Save Old Stray Dog

Standard

Image links to Care2 article

“…We headed north in our vehicles, and we soon spotted him trudging down an alley in search of food.  I couldn’t believe how thin, haggard and miserable he looked.  When he spotted us following him, he began walking a little faster, not knowing that we wanted to help, not hurt him.

We were finally able to corral him in that alley, and when I carried him to my truck, I sadly realized what a truly horrid condition he was in.  He was thin– far too thin and his matted, mangled fur was filthy, and it was drenched in some sort of putrid smelling tar and oil.

At the animal hospital, the vet couldn’t believe his horrendous condition.  “He’s at least fifteen pounds underweight, and God only knows what this terrible smelling gunk on his coat is.  He doesn’t have a microchip, and he’s not neutered, and I’d say that he’s at least eight or nine years old.  What are you going to name this one?”

“I’ve decided to call him ‘Scruffy.’ Poor old Scruffy has really had it tough out there on the streets, and I really think he deserves a second chance….”

About D.Dinius

I am big on education, animals, and nature. So following that sentence I think it's important to be smart and animals and nature bring clarity and a calmness to things. I am new to actually paying attention and having opinions. This has been building well for about the last year. :)

2 responses »

  1. Thank you this one made me cry 🙂 I always wanted a large area to take in stray dogs and I love to see when other people are doing it.

    • Of course! I need to be reminded that there’s still caring people out there. I wish I could take in strays too! There’s an animal shelter in the area that posted that: “Despite all we do to find homes, more than 5,000 cats had to be euthanized in Santa Clara County last year.” It’s just so disheartening and sad!

Leave a Reply

