Do I Amuse You?

Standard

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-22707094

“A man died from his injuries when he was bitten multiple times by a beaver in March. He had apparently been attempting to catch the animal in order to be photographed with it.”

I want to sympathize with the guy. I really do. But he really handled the situation poorly. The beaver obviously didn’t want to take a picture with him. Seriously though, I’m sure it had no idea why this human was coming after him and thought it had to defend itself. The way the story is written makes it sound like the guy wasn’t taking no for an answer.  To me, “been attempting” sounds like multiple tries. Whereas “had attempted” would have had the sound of tried once and left it alone. Which he should have done! People really need to stop trying to make animals do things they don’t want to do because all that ends up happening is the human gets hurt and every one blames the animal. The title of this is what I imagine the beaver to be saying to itself. Like in Goodfellas: “You mean, let me understand this cause, ya know maybe it’s me, I’m a little fucked up maybe, but I’m funny how, I mean funny like I’m a clown, I amuse you? I make you laugh, I’m here to fuckin’ amuse you? What do you mean funny, funny how? How am I funny?”

About D.Dinius

I am big on education, animals, and nature. So following that sentence I think it's important to be smart and animals and nature bring clarity and a calmness to things. I am new to actually paying attention and having opinions. This has been building well for about the last year. :)

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

