Inaction Breeds Drought and Turmoil

Standard

Ah, the good ‘ole California drought. I’m sure the corporations are just loving this. I’m sure the profits are through the roof!

I went to a Bacon Festival on the 4th and the Bacon Bacon truck had a note written on the truck saying that they can no longer sell water. However once you got up to be able to see the whole truck you could see a good amount of water bottles they could still sell. And when asked why, they just said that they couldn’t. But as we walked we saw kids playing in the little water geysers.

Because THAT’S not ass backwards! You can’t drink the water for hydration on a hot day, but please, feel free to play in it.
And should I mention the water parks that AREN’T closed? One of the first commercials I saw for the summer was Raging Waters! And another water park has opened!

Seriously, what the hell? You’re going to start throwing regulations on regular citizens and you won’t even stop the water flow to places that aren’t needed?

California board considers fines for water wasters

“Near Sacramento, the Folsom Lake reservoir’s level has fallen so much that remnants of a Gold Rush-era ghost town are now visible.”

Severe Drought Grows Worse in California

“Restrooms with flush toilets at D.L. Bliss State Park at Lake Tahoe, the Hearst Castle visitor’s center and Hearst San Simeon State Park have been closed and replaced with portable toilets and hand sanitizers.”
http://www.latimes.com/local/lanow/la-me-ln-drought-closes-park-bathrooms-20140711-story.html

Ah! Good! Because it wasn’t bad enough before!

Update 7/22/14:
This has been sitting in my drafts for at least a week now. It’s not as strong as my last post and I felt like I’ve just been complaining. But then I came across this article this morning:

No good deed… California couple tries to conserve water during drought, gets $500 fine for brown lawn


And I feel like I should press on with this. How are more people not upset with all this? I brought it up at work the other day because Nestle is who delivers our drinking water (and we’d been out for a good couple days. And I thought it was rude since they’re stealing it from us in the first place). But all that really ended up happening was me amusing them a little because they didn’t care (Which was actually said) and I think they’d never thought about it either.

This was in my feed this morning too! While I don’t know what to make of the showers shown, I do like a snippet of what was said.
“You sit on a stool with a wooden bucket and ladle, soap and a sponge, and in the more modern showers, a hand shower that is used when needed for rinsing and never left on to run into the drain. Sitting while you shower is safer and I found a lot more relaxing; having no water running meant that I could take as long as I wanted. I would do a very careful and extended job of it and was squeaky clean by the time I got into the tub, yet probably used less water than any shower I have had in North America.”

About D.Dinius

I am big on education, animals, and nature. So following that sentence I think it's important to be smart and animals and nature bring clarity and a calmness to things. I am new to actually paying attention and having opinions. This has been building well for about the last year. :)

Leave a Reply

