And So I Continue to Learn the Same Thing

Standard

As I’ve said on here a couple times already, Facebook is just not the place. I present you you my idea of what I feel like happened.

I’d gotten suck(er)ed in again and I’d gotten to the point where I thought I might be able to get a conversation or 2 instead of just ‘likes’ and copious forms of escapism. But instead I’d ended up killing the posts. At first I wasn’t sure so I waited.

But no one even wanted to take a moment to say yay or nay.

Exhibit A:

I finally had to say something. Couldn’t stay quiet anymore after this always popping up year after year. I think I did really well considering.
“I love you, I really do, but every year you go on this crusade, posting these over and over again. And it seems the more we comment with tolerance, the more you seem to post them. And yet you never seem to join the conversation. You may think you’re defending your beliefs (“If anyone sins in that he hears a public adjuration to testify, and though he is a witness, whether he has seen or come to know the matter, yet does not speak, he shall bear his iniquity;” (Leviticus 5:1)), or feel there’s a war on Christmas, but notice no one says anything until you post one of these. And while I can respect your unwavering beliefs in the midst of the opinions of others, it doesn’t give you the green light to try to shove it down peoples throats like this does. Obviously this means a lot to you, but there are people out there who believe just as strongly in their ideals as you believe in yours. All this will do is push them away, and drive an even bigger wedge between cultures, when showing by example works a million times better. (“The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to be silent.”(Exodus 14:14)) Please keep this holiday as one of love. If I’m wrong please tell me, because when you say nothing it only leaves those of us who see these to their own theories. <3”

Exhibit B:
I was surprised with this one because this person is usually up for thoughts. I was really excited I had some that were super relevant and as far as I could tell, true. This link was posted: http://www.collective-evolution.com/2014/04/07/non-conformity-creativity-now-listed-as-a-mental-illness-by-psychiatrists/
I didn’t want people to freak out like this article wanted, so of course something had to be said.
“I believe this article is just there to draw up traffic to the site and most obviously to grab an audience for the documentary. Even I was easily able to spot the half truths to get people on a rampage. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM ) generally deals in chronic cases. Lying is in there, something everyone has done here and there, but it becomes a disorder when it’s a knee-jerk reaction no matter the circumstance. They lie about any and all things, even about what they did that day, and they may not even know that they’re doing it. (http://www.psychologytoday.com/…/the-10-personality&#8230;) So when they’re saying “oppositional defiant disorder, or ODD, they’re saying that they will oppose practically anything and will probably fight you on it. The DSM is psychology’s attempt to be as scientific as they can to something that we know very little about, to help the people who need it and do what they can. Especially when chronic patients generally don’t really want to say what’s really going on, they can only work with what they have. And of course they will bring up the Soviet Union, who historically had totalitarian regimes following WW1. (Not to say that every government hasn’t had people in their pocket to try to get what they need done. That’s why we always have “evidence” to support what ever view that’s out there.) And a psychiatrist is just a psychiatrist, not a scientist. So OF COURSE they’re not going to be able to give you lab tests. Contrary to what Hollywood depicts, 1 does not encompass all. Even if you were able to grab a scientist it would need to be the right kind of scientist or they wouldn’t be able to help you anyway. :)”
But I also wanted to convey that I agree that there were problems so I posted these too.

In addition to this which is not really a huge deal, just disappointed that no one wanted to talk about these interesting things, I had also been ‘asked’ some things. 1, why I don’t post metal music videos. I like metal, I have some cd’s. It’s just MY page and I should be able to post what I want. Things that are relevant to me at the time. 2. If I could take down a picture because someone might feel bad. When I looked back at it, I didn’t see anything offending about it. And finding the whole thing questionable I knowingly over-reacted and took down the whole lot of them.

All of this has resulted in me taking a pretty big step back from facebook, which is actually something I hadn’t done before.

And I think I feel better for it. I haven’t posted anything since Christmas. And I’m like a groundhog popping up every so often to like the things that matter and maybe make a comment or two, but no more thoughts/ideas(because no one cares about what you think unless it mirrors their own thoughts/ideas). I’ll leave that for here since I usually post my thoughts on here anyway (being a blog and all) and I’m not usually expecting responses. I thought about leaving all together, but I still want to keep in touch with people. So we’ll see how it goes. I do have other things I could be doing like working on things to post here, reading, or learning something new. All I know is that I wont be spending as long on there or continuously checking on my phone (which I’m sure my data with thank me for.)

About D.Dinius

I am big on education, animals, and nature. So following that sentence I think it's important to be smart and animals and nature bring clarity and a calmness to things. I am new to actually paying attention and having opinions. This has been building well for about the last year. :)

4 responses »

  1. Dani, I totally understand what you are saying here. I only use facebook to keep in touch with family and friends. I try to use it for “light” matters, but never ever have felt comfortable expressing my actual opinion. I try to be a bit careful of the articles that I “promote” and “try” to ignore the propaganda that is passed on by others because they don’t think about what they are really saying. It is hard to grown up with people that don’t think for themselves, but only as they have been told to think. It makes me always feel a bit of a black sheep, but also proud that I do “think” and have my own opinion. I for one always want to know what you think and why. I am open to “real” thought. 🙂 And I am so proud that you think and explore for yourself.

    • I’ve never thought of a black sheep as a bad thing! I feel like that term has a bad wrap for some reason. I prefer ‘rare’ or ‘unique’. 🙂 I really wish I could give you a hug right now, because you just made me tear up a bit. So please take a moment to pretend my arms have out-stretched through the screen to give you one (as creepy as that may be image wise. lol!).

Leave a Reply

