Brownie Truffles

Standard

I don’t always dessert, but when I do, it’s awesome. 🙂

C’mon, you know you chuckled. 🙂
I don’t dessert a lot these days, but on the occasions I do, I don’t want to waste my allowance on something that sucks and regret it. I made these a few days after my accident and they are SO FREAKING GOOD! So I’m posting so you can try them and so I don’t forget what I did for next time. 🙂 Inspired by this recipe and did a one stop shop at Trader Joe’s. They are super easy, but take a good chunk of the day with all the waiting in between things. Enjoy!
wpid-img_20150721_180228062.jpg

Take your favorite brownie mix – make and bake as usual and let it cool completely. Once cooled spoon out into a bowl (If the edges are kinda hard, I’d suggest eating them instead of adding them the the bowl). I used Trader Joe’s Brownie Truffle Baking Mix. I’d never tried it before, but it turned out to be a great decision!

Next, you’ll want to add 4oz of softened cream cheese. I used an eye-balled half container of Trader Joe’s 8oz whipped cream cheese.
Line a cookie sheet, roll your mix into balls, and place onto the cookie sheet. Put them into the freezer for about 30 minutes or until firm.

Near the end of the time you’ll want to melt your chocolate. Using the microwave worked well for me. Don’t nuke them, just long enough to melt it all. I used Trader Joe’s Belgian dark chocolate and I didn’t even need it all. I just microwaved new squares as I needed them. Now, if you intend on using toppings you want to add it just after you coat the ball in chocolate as these dry fairly quickly. I learned that after I’d done about 5. But after eating the ones with the topping first and then going to the un-topped ones, I found that it was the topping that gave it that extra little umpfh to make these awesome. I’d used the Trader Joe’s version of Oreos called Joe-Joe’s.

Once done, place pan in freezer until the chocolate hardens. These are best kept in the freezer. Remove about 5 minutes before serving. No seriously, at least 5 minutes.

About D.Dinius

I am big on education, animals, and nature. So following that sentence I think it's important to be smart and animals and nature bring clarity and a calmness to things. I am new to actually paying attention and having opinions. This has been building well for about the last year. :)

Leave a Reply

