Get It Gone: The Purge

Standard

Since around November I’ve been slowly getting rid of things. I know I made a post earlier this month on the 5th about letting go of people, but I’ve been applying the same kind of mentality to other areas of my life as well. Not that we have been living in filth

but we’ve wound up with a sort of clutter. This morning I took 3 large trash bags plus a few books my used book store wont take, in to Goodwill. 3 bags! Old toys from my childhood that would be better put to use with someone else’s kid, than in a bin in a closet. Clothes Tyler didn’t want anymore. Necklaces, a scarf, random kitchen things that haven’t been used in years. Gone.

Funnily enough, the apartment still looks about the same. Some places you can tell look a little lighter and some drawers aren’t as cluttered… but I’ll take it. AND I’ve given some of my childhood stuff to 2 of my co-workers who are pregnant. Got rid of some holiday stuff around November… It’s been good! I feel lighter. I still have the urge to get rid of more stuff, but I haven’t really come across anything that I’m ready to let go of. And that’s fine. I’ll just have to be mindful and re-asses every once in a while. Seriously though, what’s the point of keeping things if they’re never going to see the light of day? But of course since I’ve been going through things, I re-organized a little, dusted, sprayed a little smell-goods, and opened some windows….

Maybe all this is why I don’t “clean” very often. lol.

In this mood of mine, I was trying to find this article from Tricycle, and it took forever, but I think I found it. But looks like one has to pay to be able to see all their old stuff, which I haven’t yet. Still thinking about it.

http://www.tricycle.com/trackless-path/freedom-and-choice

But in the process of looking for that I did find a couple things that I think work just as well.

I really liked how this TEDtalk started:

And I signed up for biweekly emails from this website to help remind me to keep the things down to a minimum:

Don’t Just Declutter, De-Own

7 Common Problems Solved By Owning Less

“We removed clothes, furniture, decorations, cookware, tools, books, toys, plus anything else we could find in our home that was not immediately useful or beautiful.”

A lot of what that website says is pretty much the baseline for why I wanted to get rid of things. It was nice to be able to read it written cohesively what I was thinking.

About D.Dinius

I am big on education, animals, and nature. So following that sentence I think it's important to be smart and animals and nature bring clarity and a calmness to things. I am new to actually paying attention and having opinions. This has been building well for about the last year. :)

5 responses »

  1. It really is such a relief to let useless stuff go and I’m glad you are discovering the therapy in it. I was forced to do this when we moved here because we only had so much room for things to bring with and while I lost some precious things that I still wish I had…a majority of it has not been missed at all. If its not being used functionally or emotionally, then why not share it with someone else. I still go through my closets every season and if I buy new stuff then I get rid of my least favorites, whether its clothing, dishes, or knick-knacks. I’m trying to get Chloe to do this as she picks up new (used) things too. There are other kids who might think that bear living at the bottom of the basket is their new favorite toy so why not let it go and give that bear a chance at love 🙂

    • I’m sorry you had to purge things before you were ready! It’s the worst having to do it because of moving. Good luck with Chloe, I was attached to a lot of childhood stuff until these last couple years. Yeah, sure, I got rid of a little here or there because of moving, but not much. When I moved to the apartment I’m in now I still had 2-3 boxes of it and a whole box of Nsync memorabilia (I just got rid of it a few months ago with Tylers’ help because it was really heavy and in an awkward spot in our small outside storage. He was shocked I had so much! lol). I don’t know when it happened really, but somewhere along the way I stopped looking so much at the past.Not to say I LIVED there, but I looked at yearbooks fairly often, old pictures, and things of that sort. But you get it exactly! If it’s not functional or emotional why not let someone else have it who could use it? 🙂

      • And, in the last couple years I realized that if I CAN keep my two bookshelves somewhat empty, I can use knick-knacks as a way to keep them standing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

