Things

Standard

Since last week, I’ve tossed some more things and taken another large trash bag to Goodwill, and traded in some books for another book in a series I’m reading. This resulted in re-arranging a few areas and drawers, and such. I’ve even been able to bring out these really cool masks and spears (supposedly from Kenya) and put them on display. We have 2 display cases and somewhere in the midst of all this I realized that they’d practically become storage. Our living room is starting to feel much more open. Boy, the next time we need to move it’s going to be so much easier! Yes, it’ll happen one day, the ‘bay area’ is just so crowded and expensive. San Jose is the 3rd most populated area in California and 10th in the U.S. (according to Wikipedia July 2014). So not only will we need to at some point, we’ll be happy to! lol!

Now that I just got all this down to what I’d been wanting (I can’t believe I’ve held on to all this stuff for so long!) I realize that Valentines Day and my birthday (32!) are creeping up.

Watch the video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fzzjgBAaWZw

And my initial thought was “great, the last thing I need is more things right now.” In the past I’d been fairly unsuccessful in getting nothing when I want nothing. I took to the internet to see what other people have come up with. My husbands mom always feels the need to buy things, and she’s one to go all out around the holidays. Even if I tell her just one thing I need, I’l end up with 3 more and a stocking full of more and candy. She doesn’t think that these types of days feel right without them. I know she means well. Anywho, there really isn’t a lot online that talks about my kind of situation. Usually it has to do with how to deal with minimalism where there’s kids involved. Becoming Minimalist came to my rescue again

7 Tips to Overcome Holiday Gift Clutter

and I realized 2 things. 1: If I get things other than gift cards I will now have space for them. And 2: After scrolling through the comments, I realized I was overlooking that gifts when given freely are given because you are cared about and I don’t want to be so disconnected that I can’t appreciate the value of the thought behind the gift. While I would much rather give and receive gifts because “I saw this and thought of you” kind of way, it’s near impossible to pull off because most people don’t think this way.

In other news, I ordered a nifty Buddha meditation statue online to replace a thing I was using to keep some books standing. I thought it would act as a great reminder to be calm, stay grounded, relax, breathe…just the stillness that comes from it. Simplicity. The delivery span was between Jan. 28th and Feb. 2nd. It took them forever to ship it out and it finally got delivered today! I was so impatient I checked the tracker on it multiple times a day! The irony of this is not lost on me. LOL!

About D.Dinius

I am big on education, animals, and nature. So following that sentence I think it's important to be smart and animals and nature bring clarity and a calmness to things. I am new to actually paying attention and having opinions. This has been building well for about the last year. :)

2 responses »

  1. It’s energizing to find others that share your same views-especially when these people are your friends!
    I’ve never been one for materialism and I see the deleterious effects of the materialistic mindset constantly. Stuff won’t make you happy. The bills come due for that same stuff and THOSE won’t make you happy, either.
    The focus on acquiring stuff needs to shift, because we are running out of room and/or landfills for it.

    • Are you saying I energized you!?!?

      I was never BIG on having things, but it seems growing up I liked having random knick-knacks. And that’s a big part of what’s gone now. I woke up one day and thought, “What is all this crap and why do I have it?” I know I thought it important at one time, but there’s so much that isn’t. And EXACTLY! Is all the stuff worth the bills? I’ve read statistics that the size of the average home has tripled in the last 50 years and yet there’s so many storage facilities. And so many things these days are smaller than they were then! It’s mind boggling!

Leave a Reply

