Daily Archives: March 16, 2013

The Zeitgeist: Moving Forward

Standard

http://www.zeitgeistmovie.com/

Much to the dismay of our most adorable kitty,

Hahaha!

and my derriere, for having already maxed out the allotted computer time they gave me I sat down yesterday afternoon to watch the 2hr 40+ video. In a way I was surprised to find it’s been out since 2011 since I’ve recently been recommended it. But then again I get it because it’s probably one of those things that find you when you’re ready for it. And that’s why I’m linking you to the site instead of posting the video I just watched. I don’t remember the last thing I’ve watched where I nodded my head in agreement so much! I even had times where I closed my eyes and said mentally to myself “music to my ears”. While a lot of it dealt with the negatives of what’s around us and why it is what it is, it ended on such a hopeful note that I actually teared up! But back to some topics. They talked a lot about how money makes this world go round and how most of it is imaginary. Most things aren’t done in ways that will last. How your environment from the time of before even being born to how your parents treat you effects how you turn out. They brought up the Ponzi scheme which is a term I had tripped over a week or so ago. (When I found this, I REALLY wanted to steal the name for this site)

Image links to page

“A Ponzi scheme is a fraudulent investment operation that pays returns to its investors from their own money or the money paid by subsequent investors, rather than from profit earned by the individual or organization running the operation. The Ponzi scheme usually entices new investors by offering higher returns than other investments, in the form of short-term returns that are either abnormally high or unusually consistent. Perpetuation of the high returns requires an ever-increasing flow of money from new investors to keep the scheme going.”- Thanks Wikipedia?

Also, before the lovely ending, they shot this scene of a forces team (police, navy, army, something along those lines) behind a gate, suited up, protecting a government building. On the other side of the gate were all the civilians (who look like they were hoping for a sit in, because they were not suited up. Not a weapon in sight.) Which brings up a thought. Would the government bring up and “Order 66” if they felt their power/authority threatened? (Yes I am a Star Wars kind of person. 🙂 )

Execute order 66